Award Recipients

Potato Industry Recognizes Innovators

The Awards recognize outstanding personal contribution and leadership in respect to the development and progress of the global potato industry.

The following recipients received their Awards at the 8th World Potato Congress which was held in Edinburgh, Scotland from the 27th to the 30th of May, 2012. The presentations took place during the Official Congress Closing Dinner.

Written nominations were submitted for consideration by the Awards Committee which was Chaired by Mr. Doug Harley, from Scotland. Other members of the Awards Committee are Ms Kimberly Warren, Managing Editor of Spudland Magazine, USA; Dr. Ben Pieterse, WPC International Advisor, South Africa, and Dr. Bir Pal Singh, WPC International Advisor, India.


The 2012 Recipients


World Potato Congress Award Winners: Front row (L-R) Luc Van den Broeke, Belgium; Guy Van den Broeke, Belgium; Ennio Pizzoli, Italy; Dr. Stuart Carnegie, Scotland. Rear (L-R) Richard Lochhead, Scottish Government Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and the Environment; Douglas Harley, WPC International Advisor and Chair of Industry Awards Committee, and Allan Parker, President of World Potato Congress Inc.

Here is a short version of the citations for each of the award recipients.

Dr. Stuart Carnegie: Scotland

Dr Stuart Carnegie: The author of over 70 papers on potato pathology. His pragmatic application of potato research to the Scottish Seed Potato Classification Scheme has won the respect of both government and industry.  He provided practical technical support to seed potato classification in Scotland and was instrumental in drafting Scotland’s seed potato legislation.

As part of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Specialised Section on Standardisation of Seed Potatoes, he was instrumental in drafting the UNECE seed potato standard and advocating its promotion to countries worldwide as the basis for seed potato classification and trade across the world.

Guy and Luc Van den Broeke - Belgium

Guy and Luc Van den Broeke: Spent their careers in the potato industry building a small family operation into a major international concern. In the process they laid the foundation for the Belgian potato processing industry, which has developed to become one of the world leaders in the sector.

The brothers understood the value of brand identification long before others caught on to its market potential. Their company, “Lutosa” is the only potato processor in Belgium working with a brand and the successful slogan (in Dutch): ‘schatjes van patatjes’ which means: ‘little potato darlings’.

Throughout their careers both brothers provided leadership and direction to help grow the Belgian Potato Industry.

Ennio Pizzoli – Italy

Ennio Pizzoli: At the young age of 85 years, Ennio Pizzoli remains President of Pizzoli Spa; Italy’s largest potato processor and a market leader in frozen french fries and potato products.

Ennio lived his life for potatoes, being an extraordinary developer of potato culture and know-how in Italy, a country traditionally devoted to cereal based carbohydrates such as pasta, bread and pizza. Throughout his career Ennio Pizzoli has fostered innovation and development in the Italian potato industry. He introduced planting and harvesting machines, various potato varieties to meet a growing demand, and a business culture focused on marketing and sales, as well as customer satisfaction.

His contribution to the growth and development of the potato industry in Italy “from seed to finished product” is recognized in Italy and across Europe.

Sincere congratulations to all 2012 recipients!


Former World Potato Congress Award Recipients

1993 – Canada
David Loggie, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Walter Kroaker, Manitoba, Canada
Prof. John Neiderhouser, Arizona, USA
Dr. Date van der Zaag, Wageningen, The Netherlands

1994 – England
Harrison McCain, New Brunswick, Canada
Dr. Gunther Graf, Germany
Dr. Jack Dennett, Caithness, Scotland
Mr. Andreas Savvides, Nicosia, Cyprus

1997 – South Africa
John Richard (JR) Simplot, Idaho, USA
Dr. Hubert Zandstra, International Potato Center, Lima, Peru
Heinz Wenger, Germany
Robin Pooley, England

2000 – The Netherlands
Jan Frans Binst- Belgium
Kees van Loon, The Netherlands
Robert Mercer, USA
Dr. John Hillman, Dundee, Scotland
Luis Matutano, Spain

2004 – China
Ray Owen, England
Antonie M (Tony) van Leersum, The Netherlands
Walter Karl Heinz (Buebi) Krohn, Germany
Dr. Prof. Song Bofu, Beijing, People’s Republic of China

2006 – USA
Jim Godfrey, UK
David Montgomery, Australia
Dr. Dongyu Qu, China
Ronald D. Offutt, USA

2009 – New Zealand
Ron Gall, New Zealand
Gregg Halverson, USA
Hardev Sing Sangha, India
Mr Joop N Stet, the Netherlands.